Forums » Website Related Forums » ArloNet Support / Technical

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
 Post subject: Forum Speed...
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:33 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
I enabled Gzip compression for everything in order to test if it really saves bandwidth. If you notice lag/latency because of this, let me know. If you seemingly notice a speed increase, let me know as well.

I haven't used it in the past, but some people say they saw nearly a 70% decrease in forum bandwidth with it enabled. Not too shabby.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:30 am
  

Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Dec 06, 1999
Posts: 1631
Location: Ogdensburg, NY ST. Lawrence
seems to be zipping right along this am Dave.... Altho seriously I'm usually not up this early....

Does the more people on the internet, cause it to run slow, or is that just an old wives tale so to say....

The UN-Computer Geek.... AKA: I know nothing...

Piece out / Rb :arrow: :roll:


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 4:07 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 13, 2000
Posts: 8523
Location: Pixley-- Actually An Hr South of Richmond, VA
It's running fast now but earlier it was slow. I bet it was because there are so many folks on the internet & there is no cable net out here in the hinterlands...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:10 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 15, 1999
Posts: 7543
i hope i'm posting this to an okay spot!

when i post messages (today and last night) today when i hit "submit", message goes through, but big

WARNING...

WARNING...etc, come up.

last night...big DE-BUG MODE message came up.

repeat...all messages went through but,,,it was weird!
just thought i'd mention it


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 11:12 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 15, 1999
Posts: 7543
partial copy of WARNING message:

Warning: main(../config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/www/arlo/resources/forums/admin/fixtables.php on line 7

Warning: main(../config.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/www/arlo/resources/forums/admin/fixtables.php on line 7

Warning: main(): Failed opening '../config.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/www/arlo/resources/forums/admin/fixtables.php on line 7

Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/www/arlo/resources/forums/admin/fixtables.php on line 22

Warning: message_die(../includes/page_header.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/www/arlo/resources/forums/includes/functions.php on line 841


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 10:32 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 15, 1999
Posts: 7543
hey, all that weird stuff seems to have cleared up!

just thought i'd mention it. :)


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:45 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
Thanks... I fixed the problem... and it should now resolve itself if there are problems with the forums!

PS - That's exactly what I needed too... Having error messages is always a big help!!!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 12:23 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Nov 29, 2000
Posts: 1798
Location: El Mirage, AZ
Hi Dave. I've had some delays loading the site today... once the main page loads, the forums are ok... I'm using firefox and my cache files are empty...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 7:05 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
The speed increase is ONLY for the forums - not the entire site... although BlunderChat uses gzip compression as well for quicker delivery of pages. And Firefox definantly supports the compression. Basically what happens is the server compresses the webpage... then sends it to you, and your browser decompresses it. That way, less data is transfered between the server and you... meaning faster page loading (as well as less bandwidth used - which is a very good thing).

This article explains it in more detail.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group