Forums » Website Related Forums » ArloNet Support / Technical

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Offline
 Post subject: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:13 pm
  

Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1274
Location: Herndon, Virginia
I've got a wierd problem with IE 8 and this website; it's the same on more than one computer.

Before I upgraded the browser to IE 8 (some sites, like Facebook, were prompting me to do so because they were designed to work with it) I could see the listing of site areas on the left side of the window panel...where the Forums button, Schedule button, etc. are. After the upgrade, they disappeared. It comes back if I use Mozilla Firefox. There is a Jump to: button on the bottom right of the page where I can navigate to these areas in IE 8...it's just wierd that it disappeared from the left panel.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:07 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
I'm having the exact same problem......I've been having to use another older computer to get on here. I e-mailed Dave about it, but haven't heard back from him yet......


          Top  
Reply with quote  
Offline
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 10:42 am
  

Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1274
Location: Herndon, Virginia
Nortonkevin, you can navigate to the forums with the computer that had the panel disappear by clicking on "comments" for one of the announcements on the front page, and then in the next window, going up (about halfway down on the page, just above the message window, just below the picture of Arlo and the mermaid) to the light blue band that has forums>>website related forums>>ArloNet Support>>Technical and click on forums. Poof! You're in forums!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
Offline
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:57 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Feb 26, 2009
Posts: 1201
Have you tried the Compatibility Mode switch?

http://blogs.msdn.com/ie/archive/2008/0 ... -view.aspx


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:33 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Thanks for the "poof" directions Sue! I am somewhat technologically challenged......if it just had 6 strings, all this would be cool, no problem 8) ......Having said that, now I'm gonna see if I can decipher Len's advice :? Thanks Len :)


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 3:46 pm
  

User avatar
Senior ArloNetizen

Joined: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 339
Location: Belgium
I had tesame problem awhile ago . Its ok now . My computer has healed himself :shock: :)


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 1:23 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1057
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
IE is a web designer's worst nightmare!!! I can't recall how many times I've done something at work and it will work fine in Firefox, Opera, Safari, and every other browser EXCEPT Internet Explorer. The web would be a better place if Microsoft ditched it in favor of Firefox - not to mention your computers would likely be a tad bit more secure.

I don't see why the government has this push towards PC's. I've gotten involved in security scanning at work, and thankfully I'm only dealing with the Mac side of things. 9 times out of 10 when the scanner finds a vulnerability on a Mac it's a false positive... I'd really like to beat the eEye (Retina) folks over the head with a blunt object (because it just means I then need to go figure out how to update my Retina Resolver script to get around all the new bogus issues so our systems come up clean). The only time our Macs need any real work is when someone turns on Samba (Windows sharing) - go figure.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IE 8 and arlo.net
PostPosted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 3:45 am
  

Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 15, 2001
Posts: 3683
Location: Dallas, Texas
Dave wrote:
... The web would be a better place if Microsoft ditched it [Internet Explorer] in favor of Firefox...
It seems that a lot of people think Firefox is only for Mac, but it's not--I use Firefox on my Mac and on my PC. If anyone wants to take the plunge, go to http://www.mozilla.com/firefox. It's free, of course, and I agree with Dave that it's a superior browser.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group