Forums » Website Related Forums » ArloNet Support / Technical

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 3:15 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 13, 2000
Posts: 8523
Location: Pixley-- Actually An Hr South of Richmond, VA
Had a problem with my YAHOO e-mail. I have the webmail and not the pop3. I got some mailer daemons and mail returned mails and in them were some of the addresses from my address book including some of some blunderites. I sure didn't send those. It can't be a virus on my moms computer cuz we have it check for viruses. Plus this is webmail. I didn't send mails to any of the addresses either. So I wonder if a spammer got into my address book on Yahoo. One fo them had an ad for a Canadian pharmacy in it along with some of the addresses in my address book. No problems with any of my other e-mail accts. So if anyone on here gets any mails like this with my address on them, I didn't send them & you just delete them. I sure hope they didn't go to anyone in my address book. But on some of the addresses from my address book it said their address couldn't be found or error sending to them or something like that. Yikes...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 4:10 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Cheryl Harrell wrote:

"One fo them had an ad for a Canadian pharmacy in it "


I think the socialists might already be targeting you :shock:


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:34 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 13, 2000
Posts: 8523
Location: Pixley-- Actually An Hr South of Richmond, VA
Must be. Someone wrote me they got an e-mail from me which I didn't send. Must be the Yahoo goof. If anyone gets any strange mails like that just delete them...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 11:01 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 13, 2000
Posts: 8523
Location: Pixley-- Actually An Hr South of Richmond, VA
Found this info on it:

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index ... 629AA5T6nk

So we changed our password for the Yahoo mail & we'll see...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:09 pm
  

User avatar
Senior ArloNetizen

Joined: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 339
Location: Belgium
It wasnt me , Kevin :twisted: :D


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:16 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
Hey Guitarman!!! Belgians are socialists??? I must be part Belgian then :shock:


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 4:26 pm
  

User avatar
Senior ArloNetizen

Joined: Oct 03, 2008
Posts: 339
Location: Belgium
I knew it :lol:


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:08 pm
  

Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 15, 2001
Posts: 3683
Location: Dallas, Texas
Me, too--I'm Belgian. :D I was French when some people changed "french fries" to "freedom fries." Now I'm Belgian. This is fun!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:40 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1057
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
Cheryl and others,

I found a combination that seems to keep a PC running with no issues for long periods of time:

1) Install and run SuperAntiSpyWare
2) Make sure your AntiVirus is up to date and running - if you don't have one, grab a copy of Avira AntiVir
3) Make sure your firewall is turned on and auto-updates are turned on
4) Grab and run a copy of Panda Anti Rootkit
5) Switch your browser from IE to Firefox

Finally, this last one is not free - but does come with a 30-day fully functional trial... And even though it's an all in one program, I recommend it because I've used it for quite some time with no issues - and everything it does can be undone.

TuneUp Utilities

What I really like best about this one is the Registry Cleaner and the 1-Click Maintenance features. Be sure to run the Registry Cleaner - as that will likely give you the best performance increase. Were you aware that generally EVERY TIME you install or remove a program on your PC you will have registry errors? Those can add up - and ecentually lead to a very slow machine.

I've run this combination of software on quite a few people's machines all with very good success - gone are the days of having to reload Windows every few months or dealing with a computer that runs so slow it's painful.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:50 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1057
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
If you're a freak about keeping your computer secure - it doesn't hurt to grab and run a-squared Free and Malware Bytes AntiMalware.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:58 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1057
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
One last thing - and I just found this one about a month ago when helping out my Mom & Dad... If you know someone who's good with computers you are friends with...

Check out Team Viewer

It's free for personal use for both Mac's and PC's. Have the person helping you install the full version - and you can download and run the quick support version. Call them up and give them the info the program provides so they can connect to you remotely to help you with your problem. The really nice thing is because it is available for Mac and PC - you can be on a PC and they can be on a Mac! And since it only allows them to connect when you run it - there is no real risk of someone hacking into your computer. And of course - the person helping you can be on the other side of the globe!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
Offline
PostPosted: Fri Sep 04, 2009 12:31 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Feb 26, 2009
Posts: 1201
Thanks Dave! The tune up kit is just the thing!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 12:14 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Sep 13, 2000
Posts: 8523
Location: Pixley-- Actually An Hr South of Richmond, VA
Thanks for the info. I have Firefox and one of the others. I can't install any more anti-virus/anti-malware on my moms puter cuz my cousin is the one who works on it & he told me don't install anymore anti-virus/anti-malware cuz he is taking care installing all that on there. But good stuff to have & know about...


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group