Forums » Website Related Forums » ArloNet Support / Technical

 


Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:20 pm
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
Since there are probably some new people around, I thought this might bear repeating...

Tapatalk is a forum app on the iPhone, Android, BlackBerry (free) and Nokia (free) and Windows Phone 7. Tapatalk Forum App provides super fast on-the-go forum access to any vBulletin, IPBoard, phpBB or SMF forum that has activated our Tapatalk plugin.

I use it myself on an iPhone 3G and it works great. I keep the forum plugin that supports it updated regularly, and the app also updates regularly as well to improve performance and add features - such as it now even supports sharing messages on here to Facebook as well.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Dec 29, 2010 5:31 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1885
Location: Wantagh, NY
Hey Dave, this actually works quite well. A lot easier on my poor old eyes than constantly resizing the web pages all the time on my device. Too bad they charge for it, just means folks will think twice before getting it.

From my Droid using Tapatalk


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:39 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
I am having problems. Tried to get my new Blackberry connected. Now I don't know what my password is.

HELP!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:30 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
What are these mobile devices of which you speak??? My only mobile device is a Chevy Silverado. When I carry a guitar with it, it is a musical mobile device :roll:


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:03 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
I'm feeling kinda like this guy about now...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kAG39jKi0lI&feature=youtube_gdata_player


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:38 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jul 06, 2008
Posts: 2531
Images: 2
Location: Crawfordville, Florida
I feel like that guy ALL the time :?


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 2:22 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
I did it! Thanks Dave!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:35 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
I was hesitant at first because of the charge for it - but I gave it a shot anyway. Being a software developer myself, I can honestly and wholeheartedly recommend this program. The devolper of Tapatalk is very active releasing frequent updates, bug fixes and patches with new features. He is also very responsive as well.

I do believe there is a free version but it only allows for forum reading - so you can at least try it out before deciding if it is worth it to you. In my opinion it was a no brainer - which should make it easier for those not currently holding on to the lone brain cell floating around blunderland!


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:51 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
I'm pretty sure it was free for my Blackberry, and I'm posting from it now.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Mon Jan 10, 2011 4:26 pm
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1885
Location: Wantagh, NY
Hey Dave - since i setup to use Tapatalk on my HTC Incredible, i now have the problem where i cannot sign-on to Arlonet. The signon tells me i've exceeded the number of tries, and I have to enter the CAPTCHA code, except there's nothing displayed on the phone.
I came to Arlonet on the web, and was presented with the same situation, but here i saw and entered the CAPTCHA code.
1. Why does it think I've exceeded the number of attempts, when I've made NONE?
2. Why can't smartphone pickup the CAPTCHA screen?
3. Why does Larry wear a blue tutu in the snow?

huh?


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:49 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
There have been a rash of "brute force" hacks on phpBB systems user accounts recently. I have implemented a system to get around this issue by requiring you to log in with your e-mail address instead of your username (since your e-mail address is not publicly displayed on the forums). You should be receiving an e-mail regarding this.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 10:04 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
BTW, I have changed the CAPTCHA system to what seems to be the standard on many sites (reCAPTCHA) and have mentioned that I'd like to see support for this feature in Tapatalk:

http://tapa.tk/forum/showthread.php?p=21806#post21806


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:06 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
I can't seem to log into Arlonet with Tapatalk on my Blackberry 9800 Torch for the last two days. I even tried the new way and it won't work.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:11 am
  

User avatar
Arlo Fanatic

Joined: Jan 09, 2003
Posts: 2491
Images: 5
Location: Rhododendron, Oregon United States
Never mind. I changed my pc to the new login and my phone started working.


          Top  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2011 11:12 am
  

User avatar
The W!zard

Joined: Aug 25, 1999
Posts: 1058
Images: 108
Location: Leonardtown, MD
Goofus, try logging in via the web just to make sure everything is working and try again with Tapatalk. I just finished playing around with a few of the security measures and they seem to work on my iPhone with Tapatalk. If it still won't let you in, try deleting the account on Tapatalk and then re-create it. Is Tapatalk giving you any kind of message when it fails?


          Top  
Reply with quote  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum


cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group